Recycled paper pulp

Planet, recycled paper pulp, cotton, sisal, 2013
Planet, recycled paper pulp, cotton, sisal, 2013

Recycled paper pulp paintings
I recycled old newspapers, making pulp.
It is a very simple process and requires few kitchen tools.
If you like cooking, you will enjoy make/recycle paper.
I start shredding paper; then I leave it in water for a while, enough to make it soft as fabric. I put the paper and a lot of water in the blender and I mix it until I get the pulp.
At this point I collect all my pulp in a bowl and instead to add glue or flour or corn starch, I mix few spoons of pure water base emulsion for wall painting aka fenomastic.
Fenomastic is a water base polymer (plastic). It blends very well with water and acts as a glue with the advantage that it colours the paper.
As fenomastic, I use Jotun water base emulsion, but any other brand is fine. Once the pulp is coloured, it can be used immediately or stored in a sealed container for few weeks. I like to have few coloured pulps to use as paints.

Recycled paper pulp, work in progress
Recycled paper pulp, work in progress

I arrange a gauze sheet on the floor . I also stretch it very much, to be sure it will be always flat  and in tension, especially when the pulp is drying.

Then I pour the pulp on the gauze and I spread it with my hands like colours on a canvas: it is a very pleasant moment for me….it reminds me when, as a child, I used to play with sand on the shore.

Painting with paper pulp, detail
Painting with paper pulp, detail

The water is running through the gauze and according with the temperature and humidity of  the day the painting will dry max. within 20 hours (in Bahrain, where I live, temperature is from 24 up to 40 degrees Centigrade, but humidity -about 80%- plays a big role. During the windy days with less humidity, the paint can dry in less than 6 hours).

I make a sheet of pulp with thickness of  almost 2 cm. After drying, the thickness will be drastically reduced to a less than 1 cm.

While the pulp is drying, the water evaporates carrying  the pigments of the colour on top of the surface. This is the reason why the top  side of the paper will have brighter colour than the back side.

Once the paper is completely dried,  I can peel away the gauze from the back side.

The resulting paper/cardboard requires a final treatment with resin on both sides, to give more strength and protection from dust and humidity, unless it will be framed.

Flower, recycled paper pulp, coffee powder, tea leaves, 2013
Flower, recycled paper pulp, coffee powder, tea leaves, 2013
One thought on “Recycled paper pulp

Leave a Reply

